Sunday Morning Coming Down

A couple of weeks ago, I mentioned that I had some go-to artistes that I would post here when I couldn’t think of anything else to post.

Cash. Kristofferson. Pride. Jones.

I make no bones about the fact that I prefer old school Country records to the new ones, but that shouldn’t preclude me from posting newer stuff.

Here’s a conversation I have had several times:

Me: I like Country music

Other Person: What, all that ten gallon hat cowboy stuff?

Me: No. That’s Country & Western. I like Country music.

Much of what I hear these days, the Nu-Country clan, seems to be a bit too polished, a bit too yee-haw for my taste.

But the other day I picked up this anthology,  Boy Crazy and Single(s) by Lydia Loveless, a name I knew but knew nothing about.

Needless to say, after hearing this – which to me is a cross between Shania Twain and Teenage Fanclub (and I’m not sure about the Shania Twain reference, I feel there’s a better comparative that I’m still clutching for) – she’s high on my list of folks to invest more time and money in:

cover

Lydia Loveless – All I Know

More soon.

Late Night Stargazing

A couple of weeks ago, I received an email from the property managers I rent my flat through. The people in the flat below me had complained about the loudness of the music I play.

I responded, suitably chastised and apologetic, but surprised, noting that I hadn’t been playing banging house music, or hardcore thrash – the staple diet of the complaint encourager – but my Late Night Stargazing playlist, which, dear reader I’m sure you’ll agree, is almost exclusively quiet, reflective, beautiful stuff.

Like this: Orbital by another name:

golden (2)

Golden Girls – Kinetic (Orbital Mix)

Why would anyone complain about having tunes like that filter into their homes?/Suck on that, downstairs neighbours (Delete as applicable)

More soon.