Friday Night Music Club

And we’re back, with the latest part of the first of the way too long mixes I did at the start of the series, and which I’m in the process of splitting down into much more easy to swallow hour-long chunks.

This one was an absolute joy to revisit, although I jiggled around with the running order a little and ditched one track from the initial mix for another, it was enormous fun to put together this 58 1/2 minute long mix of 16 songs, ranging from spiky indie guitar tunes to some skater punk to the 1970s New York punk scene and then to some Emo and some Goth – all absolute bangers in my humble opinion:

Friday Night Music Club Vol 1.3


  • Gang Of Four – I Found That Essence Rare
  • The Fall – Dead Beat Descendant
  • Maxïmo Park – Our Velocity
  • Super Furry Animals – God! Show Me Magic
  • Sports Team – Here’s The Thing
  • Elastica – Stutter
  • Sum 41 – In Too Deep
  • Good Charlotte – Girls & Boys
  • My Chemical Romance – Teenagers
  • Ramones – Beat On The Brat
  • Iggy Pop – The Passenger
  • Blondie – (I’m Always Touched By Your) Presence Dear
  • Siouxsie & The Banshees – Hong Kong Garden
  • The Sisters Of Mercy – This Corrosion
  • The Rapture – House of Jealous Lovers
  • Interpol – Mammoth (Erol Alkan Rework)

A quick reminder: any skips or jumps are down to the mixing software; any mis-timed mixes are down to me; all record selections are mine.

Hope you enjoy, see you back here this time next week.

(More soon.)

Here’s The Thing

You know my schtick by now: write about something, post a tune which sort of links to the topic in question, or have a few long running series where I post old tunes which I think are ace.

But every now and then, I do feature new music, but I have a rule which is not to post a downloadable version of the song in question, for this is a young band who needs you to go out (OK, you can’t actually go out at the moment, but you know what I mean) and spend some bucks on their latest record.

This is getting a lot of play on 6Music at the moment, and rightly so, because it’s ace.

To these ears, a gleeful mix of Sleaford Mods, Art Brut and Young Knives, this is Sports Team:

Slap me about the head with a wet fish and call me Susan, that is chuffing brilliant.

The release of their debut album – Deep Down Happy – has been put back to 19th June; but Here’s The Thing is available for download now, from the usual places.

More soon.