Sunday Morning Coming Down

A little over a week ago, there was an item on the news about how Beyoncé had released an album of Country music, which featured guest appearances by such legends as Willie Nelson and Dolly Parton. Intrigued, I got me a copy.

It’s not, in my opinion, a Country album. So why am I featuring it here, in my Sunday morning country music slot, I hear you ask. Well, because there are definite tinges of Country music there, and whilst I don’t claim to be an expert on Beyoncé’s back catalogue, I’d say this is her most Country record to date.

As for those guest appearances by Willie and Dolly, well don’t get your hopes up, as they feature by way of a couple of voicemail messages and inter-song links, so don’t get your hopes up about an actual collaboration. That said, there is a really rather good cover (lyrically reworked) of this old Dolly delight:

Beyoncé – Jolene

Dolly’s version came out in 1973, 51 years ago. Assuming she was in her early twenties back then, that would make Jolene in her seventies now and so, frankly, I don’t think you need to feel quite so threatened by her anymore, Beyoncé.

Other album highlights include a lovely cover of The Beatles’ Blackbird (a song so beautiful you’d have to try really hard to mess it up), the lead single from the album: Texas Hold ‘Em, this duet with Miley Cyrus: II Most Wanted and Ya Ya, which samples Nancy Sinatra’s These Boots Are Made For Walking, goes a bit Patti Smith’s Gloria whilst also referencing The Beach Boys. It’s a four and a half minute whirlwind of brilliance.

It’s definitely worth checking this out, I really like it, it’s a definite grower, just don’t expect it to be quite the out-and-out Country conversion it’s being billed as in some quarters – it’s a little bit Country, done as only Beyoncé, and that’s a good thing.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coming Down”

  1. That’s an intriguing review….and fair play to you Jez, for taking on the task.

    Just to mention, in passing, that the probably long-forgotten 80’s Glasgow duo, Strawberry Switchblade, did a pretty awful version of Jolene that was released as a single in 1985.

    1. Now I wasn’t going to mention it, but you’re right. Awful. But then, compared with Since Yesterday, pretty much everything is.

Leave a comment