Friday Night Music Club Vol 61

Right. It’s about time things got back to normal round here, and what better way to do that then by me whacking another hour-long one out for you.

What with it being the Glastonbury festival this weekend, I imagine you’re expecting me to have curated a mix which features loads of bands playing over the next few days. Well, I haven’t, mostly because I haven’t had time, but also just a teensy bit because I genuinely had no clue who’s on this year until the past couple of days. I mean, Coldplay? Again?? Seriously?? Chris Martin must have some really compromising photos of one or more of the Eavis’; that’s the only logical reason for them headlining the Pyramid Stage for a *check notes* fifth – FIFTH! – time this year.

Also, if I was even the teensiest bit switched on, as this is Voume 61, I would have included Dylan’s Highway 61 Revisited, or at the very least PJ Harvey’s cover version of it. But I’m not, so I haven’t.

So, what have I included this week? Well, despite there not being not one flicker of a moan about me not including a track-listing to accompany last week’s mix, I’ve done one for you all this week, so have a gander down below (as I once suggested to my urologist. He didn’t appreciate the cheeky wink. Or the winking cheeks, for that matter).

Right, let’s crack on, shall we?

Friday Night Music Club Vol 61

Track listing:

  1. The 5th Dimension – Up, Up And Away
  2. Lloyd Cole & The Commotions – Are You Ready To Be Heartbroken?
  3. Senseless Things – Hold It Down
  4. Status Quo – Down Down
  5. The Rainmakers – Let My People Go-Go
  6. The Cult – She Sells Sanctuary
  7. Placebo – Nancy Boy
  8. Led Zeppelin – Whole Lotta Love
  9. The Pleasureheads – Falling Man
  10. Hüsker Dü – Don’t Want to Know if You are Lonely
  11. Bryan Adams feat. Melanie C – When You’re Gone
  12. The Undertones – She’s A Run Around
  13. Sharon Marie – Run-Around Lover
  14. The Soup Dragons – Soft As Your Face
  15. Prince & The Revolution – Raspberry Beret
  16. Smokey Robinson & The Miracles – I Second that Emotion
  17. Juice Newton – Angel Of The Morning
  18. Saint Etienne – Wilson

I must apologise that Track 12 kind of runs into Track 13 in a rather messy way; I forgot there was final chord after the moments silence at the end Track 12, and I went off too quickly (as I once said to my…no, never mind…). I had planned to redo the mix, but time caught up with me, what with all the fantastically exciting football that’s been on TV to watch. Y’know, when England haven’t been playing.

But no, I’m not going to apologise for Track 11. It’s a bloody great pop record. Fact.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

4 thoughts on “Friday Night Music Club Vol 61”

  1. Greetings from the United States, and belated (but heartfelt) condolences on the loss of your father. My own dad passed away a few days ago, after two weeks in the hospital and hospice. I’m now experiencing what you no doubt continue to experience yourself: everywhere I turn, things bring him to mind, suddenly and with no warning, and hit hard. Here’s why I mention this.

    At one point the hospital staff needed to change out the mattress on my dad’s bed, and to do this they put him in a hammock-like lift that literally lifted him to the ceiling. On the way up, he couldn’t resist singing a few bars of a song by his favorite songwriter, Jimmy Webb: “Up, Up And Away.”

    And as happened when I read your tribute to your own father, there are tears in my eyes once again because I faithfully follow this blog. And I mean this with appreciation.

    All the best to you. Eventually the memories will bring only comfort.

    1. Ah, mate, I’m so sorry for your loss. You’re right, the grief pops up from nowhere, totally unexpectedly. I find myself sitting wondering: What made that happen? Truth is, there’s no rhyme nor reason to it, so don’t fight it, it needs to come out, so let it. People will understand, and if they don’t well, feck ‘em. Wishing you and your family much love.

  2. As always, a great and varied mix (All songs are from the last century or, to be less precise, from the last millennium. Right?). My favourites are Led Zeppelin, The Pleasure Heads, Hüsker Dü and the Undertones (They easily overcompensate for Bryan Adams and Juice Newton). I was totally amazed at how modern Whole Lotta Love sounds. The end of the mix is ​​extremely smart.

Leave a comment