Looney Tunes

It’s a looooonnnnnngggg time since I posted anything from this album, so allow me to refresh your memories as to how it came into my possession.

I have family who live in the good ol’ US of A, and many, oh god so many, years ago, my aunt who lives on the other side of the pond, came to visit. This would have been when I was around 10, maybe a little older, maybe a little younger.

She came bearing gifts, namely this album on the legendary K-Tel Records label. Until last year, I’d only had a digital copy I managed to track down to call my own. But regular readers will recall that last year, my brother moved back to the UK, took all of his wordly possessions out of storage, and decided he no longer had any need for his vinyl, which he generously donated to me. (I do get to keep all these, right…?)

Imagine my delight when, as I sorted his vinyl out and slotted each record into it’s rightful place on the shelves, I found I was reunited with this record from my childhood.

This one always made me laugh as a kid, simply because it’s one of those where you think lyrics are going to include a swear word, but dodges the bullet at the last minute.

The Hustlers – Shaving Cream

Play this to your kids. See if they giggle at the swear-dodging bits. Ground them for knowing (admittedly, quite mild) swears.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

3 thoughts on “Looney Tunes”

  1. A welcome return to this album – Recognise everything on the album cover except this one and yes, quite amusing and not nearly as potentially crude as many other songs written/thrown together in the same vein. More innocent times.

    1. I listened to the whole album earlier, and found myself thinking “Really….? You couldn’t say that nowadays.” (Which is a good thing.)

      1. I would have to listen to them all again myself but yes, a lot has changed since those days, which is a good thing, but we’ve lost a lot too and I think people were more generally happy back then.

Leave a comment