Back Seat Boris

Don’t worry, I’m not about to have a political rant, although I am long overdue one of those.

What with all the back stabbing and back seat driving involving Brexit and Boris “Two Articles” Johnson, I suspect he’s actively trying to get sacked so he can reposition himself as the Maverick Brexiteer when May finally gets the elbow.

More important than that, is that I’ve had this song in my brain all week. So I thought I may as well share it with you:

moodyblue1_720x600

Elvis Presley – Moody Blue

That is all.

More soon.

Sunday Morning Coming Down

I featured an album by today’s artist in my series about vinyl I’ve purchased recently which seemed to go down rather well, so I thought I’d share with you my favourite track by them this morning.

Sometimes songs come into your life by slightly unconventional means. I first remember hearing this song when it featured in TV drama Cracker, in a storyline where a lab technician always plays it whilst preparing to murder her unsuspecting student victims.

Personally, I think there’s something quite Scott Walker/Jacques Brel about it, which is rarely a bad thing in my book.

It also, since we both did a double-take when we each named this as our favourite Dusty record shortly after meeting, reminds me of one of my best friends. (Hello!)

dusty-springfield-i-close-my-eyes-and-count-to-ten-philips-5

Dusty Springfield –  I Close My Eyes And Count To Ten

Stunning.

More soon.

Late Night Stargazing

Back to 1988 tonight, and to a wonderful album named after the church in which it was recorded.

“The Trinity Sessions” by Cowboy Junkies is a thing of beauty; recorded with the band circled around a single microphone, it features a mix of original material, cover versions, and, in the case of tonight’s tune, a combination of the two.

ARTH_8568Q__61054__10142009021226-5729

Cowboy Junkies – Blue Moon Revisited (Song for Elvis)

Dedicated to my old mate A.R.H., a dyed-in-the-wool Man City fan, who turned forty last week, as he seems to do most years.

More soon.