American Graffiti

I have a meeting tomorrow morning that I needed to prepare for, so, dedicated and loyal servant that I am, I brought my work laptop home so I could prepare for it.

Unfortunately, it won’t connect to the works server at all (it usually can, but is incredibly slow), so I can’t access the software package I need to be able to do what I need to.

So it looks like I’ll be going into work early tomorrow. Harumph.

But don’t worry: I have used the time I had set aside for work constructively. By watching a new series on Netflix called “American Vandal”.

It’s a spoof of all the crime and justice documentaries – like “The Making of a Murderer” and “The Keepers”, both also on Netflix and worth a watch if you haven’t seen them already (and like that kind of thing) – which are popular at the moment, and is delivered with the same air of gravitas such subjects deserve. Shot using hand-held cam footage, mixed in with social media screengrabs, 3D scene recreations and YouTube clips, and including the film maker meandering off into evidential cul-de-sacs, along with the usual bomb-shell reveal and cliff-hanger format, it certainly looks like the documentaries it sets out to parody.

Except “American Vandal” isn’t about an unjustly imprisoned suspect, or a long unsolved murder. Here’s the set-up: high-school kid Dylan Maxwell gets expelled for allegedly spray-painting 27 phalluses on 27 teachers’ cars one afternoon. There is no proof that he did it, but the school doesn’t need proof: Dylan’s reputation as a disruptive goofball with a history of drawing phalluses is enough to send him packing.

But when aspiring filmmaker Peter Maldonado, also a kid at the same high-school, decides to make a documentary about the whole incident, he finds that he does need proof to show that Dylan didn’t do it. If indeed, he didn’t.

I’ll say no more for fear dropping of an inadvertent spoiler. Instead, here’s a relevant song:

XXX-324270

Maxïmo Park – Graffiti

Oh, and case you fancy watching the trailer for “American Vandal”, here you go:

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

