A History of Dubious Taste – 1986

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote about “Take the Subway to Your Suburb”, a compilation of tracks released on The Subway Organization label.

Here, from May 1986, is another release on the same label, a three track 12″ that both my brother and I both bought copies of. On the same day.

In a loft conversion in our parents house was a communal room (it was meant for my brother and I and our friends had a room to hang out in without getting in our parents’ way), in which was housed a TV, a sofa, a couple of guitars and a stereo.

The stereo was my brother’s, one of those affairs that are designed to look like a piece of furniture, housed in a wooden frame with a tinted glass door over the tape decks, volume control and record rack, with another tinted glass lid covering the turntable.

As I always did upon purchasing a new record, I bolted up the stairs two or three at a time, bounded into the room, only to find my brother already in there, listening to exactly the same record as I’d just bought, which confused me somewhat since my copy was still in the bag I was carrying.

This one, probably one of the shortest three track 12″ singles ever released, with a total running time of under six minutes, each track a perfect example of short but sweet Buzzcocks-inspired indie greatness:

R-1172410-1288130359_jpeg

The Soup Dragons – Whole Wide World

The Soup Dragons – I Know Everything

The Soup Dragons – Pleasantly Surprised

I’ve not listened to those three tracks in quick succession for a few years, and blimey did I just enjoy doing it then.

More soon.

“In the End, It Took Me a Dictionary to Find Out the Meaning of Unrequited” #9

When posting songs about unrequited love in this series, it’s quite hard to overlook today’s selection.

And because of the straight-forwardness of the title, it also means I don’t need to say much by way of explanation.

So: taken from one of my favourite albums of the past ten years, this is Lykke Li:

cover

Lykke Li – Unrequited Love

More soon.

Acoustic Afternoons

Ahh, Evan Dando and the Lemonheads. About time they cropped up here, for I have quite a few tunes of theirs performed acoustically.

See, old Evan I think sees himself as quite the troubadour, travelling around the land armed only with an acoustic guitar and a plaid shirt, tossing off unplugged versions of some of his finer moments for his adoring fans, of which, just so there’s no confusion, I am most definitely one of them.

In fact, the first time I ever saw Dando play live, it was without the Lemonheads, an acoustic gig, upstairs in Cardiff’s Clwb Ifor Bach, and it was a wonderfully sing-a-long affair, as you would expect.

Here’s an acoustic version of a track from their “Come On Feel The Lemonheads”, which cropped up as an extra track on one of the singles released from the album:

It's About Time Front

The Lemonheads – Down About It (Acoustic)

Aficionados of the original version will know that backing vocals were provided, as they often were on Lemonheads records, by Juliana Hatfield (I’m not entirely sure if it’s her that crops up at the end of that acoustic version). Coincidentally, Juliana released an album of acoustic cover versions in 2012, and here she is performing one of Led Zeppelin’s finest moments:

cover

Juliana Hatfield – Rock And Roll

And to round things off here for today, I’m going to take you back to Evan. Last night I watched the Nick Broomfield documentary about Whitney Houston, which leads me to this:

ificouldtalkcoverThe Lemonheads – How Will I Know?

More soon.

Sunday Morning Coming Down

Yesterday, I posted a song by Tracey and Melissa Beehive, a cover of a Johnny Cash song, which was lifted from an album called “‘Til Things Are Brighter – A Tribute to Johnny Cash” which I described as being “one of those typically patchy tribute albums that were all the rage once upon a time.”

This description seems to have been a little misconstrued; what I meant was that typically those tribute albums, which were all the rage once upon a time, could be a little on the patchy side. I was not describing “‘Til Things Are Brighter” as patchy, though I see why it might be thought that was what I meant.

And to prove it, here’s another tune from the same album:

untitled

Michelle Shocked – One Piece At A Time

Hope that clarifies!

More soon.

Late Night Stargazing

Long ago, I started writing a series entitled “Sunday Morning” where the intention was to post songs that you could happily listen to as you enjoy the traditional day of rest, be that by relaxing, or recovering, or both.

Over the following months, as more and more of those songs turned out to be Country songs, the series changed into “Sunday Morning Coming Down”, which focuses exclusively on the genre. There’ll be another in that series along in a couple of hours.

But back when it was in its original incarnation, this was the first song to feature there, and so it seems only right that I restore it to its rightful place here instead.

This is a cover of an old Minnie Riperton classic, but given a glorious make-over and update. If you’ve never heard either version, give this a listen, you’re in for a treat:

 d7b0a1722b849ee563a4a61e2b0c59f7_400x400x1

4hero – Les Fleur

More soon.