“In the End, It Took Me a Dictionary to Find Out the Meaning of Unrequited” #7

“A Short Album About Love”, a seven track record released by The Divine Comedy in 1997 was the first thing I ever bought by the band. I know, I know, late to the party as always.

I played it over and over again, causing my flatmate at the time to knock on my bedroom door to enquire if everything was alright. (It was.)

And this is the only single lifted from the album, and it sits perfectly in this series:

THE_DIVINE_COMEDY_EVERYBODY+KNOWS+(EXCEPT+YOU)-586444

The Divine Comedy – Everybody Knows (Except You)

The group have a habit of releasing live (often) orchestral versions of not just their own songs but others too. For example, “Everybody Knows…” got released on three separate CDs, each one featuring an extra three live tracks.

On CD1 was a cover of their breakthrough hit single:

The Divine Comedy – Something for the Weekend

…along with a cover of this Walker Brothers classic:

The Divine Comedy – Make It Easy On Yourself

I might post some more of those soon.

Or just: More soon.

Acoustic Afternoons

Back to the Acoustic Tent now, and a band who I imagine many would not expect to find performing here.

Motörhead.

If memory serves, this first surfaced in an advert for some beer or other; thankfully it got a commercial release shortly afterwards.

It’s surprisingly good, Lemmy’s grizzled voice really works accompanied by an acoustic guitar and a harmonica.

R-6130210-1411821954-9790_jpeg

Motörhead – Ace of Spades (Acoustic Version)

More soon.

Sunday Morning Coming Down

This morning, something a little more…erm…modern than usually features in this series.

I suspect I must have picked this up from one of my blogging peers somewhere along the line, not sure who, but thank you in case you’re reading.

** Update – it seems it was The Robster’s excellent Is This The Life? blog. Diolch i chi fy ffrind, he says, hoping that Google Translate isn’t taking the piss**

I love Echo & The Bunnymen, but I’ve always thought, as I’m sure you have too, just how much they’d improve if only they sounded a bit more Country, and got themselves a female lead singer.

Hey presto!

MI0003416341

Diane Birch with The Phenomenal Handclap Band – Bring on the Dancing Horses

See?

More soon.

Late Night Stargazing

We’re back in glorious cacophony of noise territory again this week, with some trippy big beat psych courtesy of Temples, of whom I know nothing, other than that they – and tonight’s song, if I’m being specific – feature on a rather great album of remixes by The Time and Space Machine.

The Time and Space Machine is, in essence, Richard Norris, who many of you will know as a former NME journalist, co-member of electro dance outfit The Grid (along with Dave Ball of Soft Cell fame), and one half of the remix/DJ duo Beyond the Wizard’s Sleeve with Erol Alkan.

And if that role call doesn’t persuade you to give this a listen, then you need to be slapped about the face with a large wet fish. Just for halibut. 

cover

Temples – Mesmerize (The Time and Space Machine Remix)

More soon.