Who (Looks Like A Lady)

It’s been a whole week since we learned that my powers of prediction are extremely poor, and that my friend Peter is not going to be the new Dr. Who.

No, instead, and it may have escaped your attention, the BBC announced that the new actor to play the part was going to be….a woman!

Unsurprisingly, sadly, the announcement caused social media platforms to go into what I believe the gutter press like to refer as “meltdown”.

Actually, I was partly to blame for this, on Twitter at least, as I spent a most enjoyable Sunday afternoon actively seeking out people – usually, but not exclusively, men – inconsolable at the news that the next Dr Who is to be played by a woman, and calling them out on their misogynistic, Neanderthal views. I never knew trolling could be so much fun.

Generally I was ignored, but some of them did try and justify their comments. One such moron kept offering the same defence, supported by a clip from the show: previously The Doctor has always been described as a man and that meant that he must stay as one. Each time I pointed out that he was described as a man because he was being played by one, and asked him why that meant that he had to remain in the shape of a man, he posted a new clip, where a different character referred to The Doctor in the male gender.

At one point, he even posted  a link to an article in the Daily Star, not realising that if you’re having to rely on stuff printed in a national newspaper that makes The Sun seem cultured and nuanced, you’ve already lost the argument. He may as well have said “The Doctor can’t be a woman because Hitler liked women”.

Seriously, if you ever find yourself agreeing with something Katie Hopkins says – and she was one of the people who Tweeted outrage that the Doctor was not going to be played by a man for a while – you need to have a long, hard look at yourself.

Anyway, eventually, he got tired of me pointing out the flaws in his position and  accused me of just wanting to have an argument. Which was semi-true; what I actually wanted was for someone to acknowledge just how ludicrous their belief – that the lead character in a story about a person with two hearts, who travels through space and time in a blue box, and whose physical characteristics changed regularly when they regenerate, had to be gender specific – is.

The sad thing is that he wasn’t alone; there were hundreds of “jokes” doing the rounds about the TARDIS being painted pink, about how it was going to be funny watching her try and park it, and how at least the inside will be clean from now on. *Sigh*. We’ve really progressed as a species, haven’t we?

So, to all of those idiots, an appropriate tune, even though you don’t deserve one:

aerosmith-dude-looks-like-a-51647

Aerosmith – Dude (Looks Like a Lady)

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

6 thoughts on “Who (Looks Like A Lady)”

  1. Well, it’s no surprise really. After all, Joanna Lumley played the Doctor 18 years ago, *in a Steven Moffat story FFS*, and there are still people who don’t recognise her as a proper Doctor either.

      1. Fair point! I assumed you meant one of those radio only stories. Had completely forgotten about this. Wish I’d remembered it last week!

  2. Thought I’d already left a comment about this. Appears not. Anyway, I keep hearing people complaining about people complaining about a Lady Who, but they are the only complaints I hear. I don’t have any direct contact with the actual idiots, just people complaining about the idiots. This makes me happy: it means I’ve chosen my internet friends extremely well.

    1. Oh yes, me too. Nobody I actually know is in the least bit bothered. I feel a little ashamed that I had to go a-hunting to find people who were genuinely upset about it (red top gutter press aside)

Leave a Reply

