Which Reminds Me…

Two things I mentioned in that last post reminded me of songs, one of which I posted before, over a year ago, so it’s due having the dust blown off of it again:

9220_Dickies

The Dickies – Banana Splits (The Tra La La Song)

The other is a song I’ve been meaning to post for absolutely ages, a song which, as with the above and The Monkees theme from the last post, takes me right back to those summer holidays and the old re-runs of shows from the 60s and 70s. It features a gorgeous, evocative sample from one of those shows, and that sample in turn provides the title of the song. Readers of a certain age will know exactly what I mean.

This is my favourite song by the band that happened in between the two phases of The Wedding Present, and I’ve always thought it to be exactly the sort of song that David Gedge split up the band to give himself the freedom to record:

MI0001934225

Cinerama – Crusoe

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

4 thoughts on “Which Reminds Me…”

    1. Hope not! They’ve been sniffing round him for a while; I know we turned down one bid and told them he’s not for sale, but if the money’s right I can see it happening…

  1. Loved the Banana Splits and the fact that the Dickies sing it so quickly you can’t make out all the words

Leave a Reply

