Sunday Morning Coming Down

This morning’s slice of Country is a song which I’ve known since I was a kid, and which I was reminded of when it featured at the start of this week’s episode of Fargo.

It’s a song which has always made me chuckle, for two reasons, one of which is deliberate on the part of the singer/songwriter, the other, I suspect, less so.

The intentional one is the joke about the definition of the word “egotistical”.

The unintentional one comes in the introduction, where we’re expected to believe that Mac Davis, of whom I have never heard anything else by, is headlining at a nightclub and being put up in “Star Suites”.

And then I do a teensy bit of research to pad this post out a little, and find that he wrote “In the Ghetto” and “A Little Less Conversation” for Elvis. And that he recorded and performed with Nancy Sinatra. And that he hosted an edition of The Muppet Show, where he performed today’s track.

Looks like I’m back to chuckling in the places where I’m supposed to, then.

3703547

Mac Davis – It’s Hard to be Humble

Oh hang on. I can chuckle at his perm instead.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

6 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coming Down”

  1. Is it just me or is that Bobby Ewing looking at me! Amazing how people we have barely heard of (not familiar with him at all) turn out to be really big stars in their native US – Having just watched a YouTube clip for this song, it is all sung in good jest though – Phew.

    His jeans on the other hand were quite egotisitcal indeed!

  2. When I was a kid, my mum and dad always listened to Radio Devon on a Sunday lunchtime. The show they enjoyed was hosted by a guy called Tony Beard, a bloke with a broad Devon accent that was quite comical. I heard this song numerous times on his show, and every so often I hear a song that takes me right back to the smell of mum’s roast dinners. Coincidentally, it also happened earlier this week as I watched highlights of First Aid Kit’s Glastonbury performance where they did a cover of The Gambler by Kenny Rogers.

Leave a Reply

