“Jealousy is an Essential Part of Love”

A little over half way through The Wedding Present’s gig last night, the following exchange took place between me and my old mate Gary:

Gary: Hold my pint while I go to the loo will you?

Me: No.

Gary: No?

Me: Correct. No.

Gary: Why not?

Me: Because if you go to the loo now, you’ll miss “My Favourite Dress”, and I don’t want that on my conscience.

So, here’s the song in question. Their finest moment? I dunno. There are so many fine moments in The Wedding Present’s back catalogue, it’s hard to choose, but certainly this would be right up there.

And in response to Aphoristic’s comment on this week’s Late Night Stargazing post, there’s no finer place to start investigating non-“Seamonsters” Wedding Present than right here:

theweddingpresent

The Wedding Present – My Favourite Dress

It finishes, to rapturous applause, cheers, and doubtless the occasional tear.

Gary: Now will you hold my pint so I can go the loo?

Me: No.

Gary: No?

Me: Correct. No.

Gary: Why not?

Me: Because if you go to the loo now, you’ll miss “Shatner”, and I don’t want that on my conscience.

Repeat to fade.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

8 thoughts on ““Jealousy is an Essential Part of Love””

  1. Seeing them on Thursday night for something like the 7th or 8th time. I’ve lost count but never grown tired of Gedge and whatever compadres have hooked up with him at the time.

  2. They were great a few weeks back in Glasgow. I have to admit that I was holding back my tears when the final song Kennedy started and Max, whose first gig it was and was a bit on edge all night as this was the Saturday after the Manchester bombing, started grinning from ear to ear.

    I saw on Twitter last night that the band were not allowed near their merchandise stall and that the venue were getting 25% of all sales, the band taking the hit as they wouldn’t pass on that on to the fans. As I have said before Gedge is a legend.

Leave a Reply

