Sunday Morning Coming Down

Last night and this morning’s posts were written before the latest terror attacks took place.

I thought about not posting them both, but since I often have said here that we should carry on regardless, that changing our daily routine is letting “them” win, I have decided to post as usual.

My thoughts, of course, are with all of those affected by last night’s attacks; my gratitude and admiration goes to our emergency services and the work they did and continue to do.

Carrying on from last night’s Roy Orbison post, here’s Johnny Cash covering a song written by Don Gibson, covered by many, but made famous by The Big O:

Johnny Cash-American V-A Hundred Highways [Front]

Johnny Cash – A Legend in My Time

Orbison’s version was one of John Peel’s favourite songs, and somewhere I have Half Man Half Biscuit covering it, a version never commercially released (as far as I know), but included as one side of a limited edition 12″ single (The Fall were on the flipside contributing “Job Search”). Actually, as an extremely limited edition: only one copy was made and that was presented to Peel as a present on his 65th birthday. I’ll try and dig it out for y’all some time.

In other words, more soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

