A History of Dubious Taste – 1986

So much for me keeping on top of these; it seems to be three months since I posted one of these.

So, here’s the next record I (remember) buying back in 1986, and it’s one that stretches my very idea that there’s no such thing as a guilty pleasure to its’ very limits.

I have no funny story or recollection to tell about this, I simply offer this up for your enjoyment or otherwise.

For this is not a record that I’m proud to announce to the world that I bought, but I did, so there you are.

diana-ross-chain-reaction-1986-3

Diana Ross – Chain Reaction

All I can say by way of a defence is that I was still a few months away from my musical epiphany and, at the time, I knew it was written by the Bee Gees (not that I’m particularly a fan of the brothers Gibb, but credit where credit’s due, they knew how to write a hit single), and they’d been responsible for a song which I still consider to be one of the finest singles ever released, and a “had a few drinks on a Friday night, sing-a-long” favourite of mine and Hel’s:

R-1247102-1256841375_jpeg

Dionne Warwick – Heartbreaker

So there.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

7 thoughts on “A History of Dubious Taste – 1986”

  1. There is no such thing as a Guilty Pleasure when it comes to records, just some rubbish records that we bought and for some unknown reason like. Not that today’s records belong to that category…..

  2. Definitely a big yes to Heartbreaker by Dionne and I only had the Bee Gees version up until now so in the light of the new guidelines (nudge, nudge, wink, wink) I may now have two versions. Thanks for posting.

    Although I adored some of the Bacharach and David songs that Dionne recorded in the ’60s she always seemed to look a bit scary, what with the cat-like eye liner etc. ’80s Dionne was much softer so not scary at all (and now holding a cat by the looks of it) so much more preferable.

  3. I think Chain Reaction is a classic, although I have stumbled across some rather disturbing interpretations of the lyrics on the interest. I’m not sure I believe them though.

Leave a Reply

