Late Night Stargazing

A few weeks ago, I had a bit of a phase of posting records by Belle & Sebastian, or by former member Isobel Campbell on this thread.

Tonight, I’m going to briefly pop back to the same area.

The other day, with my trusty mp3 player, as always on shuffle, tonight’s song cropped up.

I could tell it was Belle & Sebastian, but couldn’t put my finger on what it was called or what album it was from, which surprised me as it had all of the hallmarks of a track from one of their earlier albums, which I much prefer to their more recent stuff. (The cut off point, in case you’re interested, is 2000’s “Fold Your Hands Child, You Walk Like A Peasant”, or maybe, at a push, 2003’s “Dear Catastrophe Waitress”. And yes, I realise that makes me sound like one of those unbearable “Oh, I only like their early stuff, before they got popular” types, but that isn’t true (on this occasion), for I didn’t even know who they were until 1998’s “The Boy With The Arab Strap”)

Anyway, upon further investigation, I found that the song in question is this, lifted from 2006’s “The Life Pursuit”. It’s prime Belle & Sebastian: twinkly piano, mournful brass, lyrics both bitter and pervy at the same time….perfect for a late night, in fact.

14301-54d0032282c79-l

Belle & Sebastian – Dress Up In You

Time for me to reassess those later albums, I think.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

