Sunday Afternoon Cinema Club

A couple of months ago, fuelled by my love of having seen “T2:Trainspotting”, I signed up to one of those monthly subscription deals with my local multiplex.

Since then, I’ve been to the cinema once.

I’m not exactly getting value for money.

So, the other evening, I went to the cinema to see “Mindhorn”.

Here’s the set-up: Julian Barratt (of “The Mighty Boosh” and “Nathan Barley” fame) plays a washed-up actor, Richard Thorncroft, best known for playing the title character in the 1980’s Isle of Man-set detective series “Mindhorn”, who gets called back to the island when a serial killer, believing his on-screen persona to be real, refuses to negotiate with anyone but him.

It’s bloody funny, in a laughably excruciating, Alan Partridge kind of way.

Here’s the trailer:

And here’s the (very loosely) linked song:

teenage-fanclub-its-all-in-my-mind-pema

Teenage Fanclub – It’s All In My Mind

Go see.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon Cinema Club”

  1. There’s a song called Detective Mimdhorn on the new Robyn Hitchcock album. I’m presuming it’s somehow related to the film.

Leave a Reply

