Claps, Clicks & Whistles #9

Time for some more whistling shenanigans, and a tune by the artist you’ve all been expecting me to drop sooner or later.

That’s right: Roger Whittaker.

Just kidding.

Credit to the Nation.

Okay, so perhaps not who you were expecting.

The band came to prominence back in 1992, with their “Smells Like Teen Spirit”-sampling track “Call It What You Want” (which was re-released in 1993 after they signed to One Little Indian Records).

Their debut album, “Take Dis”, was released in 1993; I first encountered them at around the same time, firstly when a guy who was working at the video store in Cardiff when I started there played me some of their stuff, and then also when the aforementioned “Call It What You Want” appeared on a compilation album of NME Singles of The Week I bought.

Today’s track was their biggest UK hit, a dig at other pop stars who elected not to use their position of power and influence to actually say anything of any importance and maybe, just maybe, make a difference (I’m looking at you Sheeran. Actually, I take that back; I’m not sure I want someone who hangs out with James Blunt and Princess Beatrice to issue a call to arms to the youth of today).

It also has the dubious distinction of being one of three rap/hip hop songs (or a song featuring a rap section) which, when I’ve had a few, I’m convinced I can pull off.

CREDIT_TO_THE_NATION_TEENAGE+SENSATION-519836b

Credit to the Nation – Teenage Sensation

More soon.

What? The other two songs….? Well, one is Mr C’s rap from The Shamen’s “Move Any Mountain”. And the other….the other will feature on these pages very soon indeed.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

5 thoughts on “Claps, Clicks & Whistles #9”

Leave a Reply

