Claps, Clicks & Whistles #8

Right then. I’ve been a little quiet of late, sorry about that, but sometimes life catches up with you.

Some of you will recall that a couple of weeks ago I recommended a film on Netflix called “Whiplash”, and I know that at least one of you took that on board, watched it, and agreed with me.

So here’s another recommendation on the same service: “I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore”

I’ll be honest, I’d avoided it because of its title, it sounded a bit forlorn, too “It’s better to burn out than fade away”, but something made me give it a go the other night, and I’m happy to report that it was an hour and a half well spent.

Here’s the plot (no spoilers): Ruth (played by Melanie Lynskey – all through the film I was trying to work out where I knew her from. The answer: “Heavenly Creatures”, which she co-starred in with someone called Kate Winslett (I’ve no idea what happened to her) back in 1994), a socially awkward nursing assistant, returns home from a shift to find her house has been burgled. The police don’t seem to be overly interested, so she turns to a neighbour, Tony (Elijah Woods), who she had only previously encountered after his dog had shat on her lawn, for help, and the two set off on a cruise for justice.

I’ll say no more, other than if you enjoy a very dark comedy, you should give it a try.

Elijah Woods is an interesting one. He seems to have decided that he was going to make enough cash out of the “Lord of the Rings” trilogy to start playing smaller, more interesting parts in more indie-ish productions. See also “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” (one of the greatest films ever, in my book, despite Jim Carrey’s presence. Oh, and somebody called Winslett is in it too…) and he’s also in the Netflix adaptation of the much missed Douglas Adams’ “Hitchhiker…” follow up “Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency” (also worth a watch, from what I’ve seen so far).

Anyway, the other thing about “I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore” is the soundtrack, which veers from Echo & the Bunnymen, to country rock to doom rock (whatever that is) to hand-clap laden 50s doo-wop, like this:

judy-and-the-affections-dum-dum-de-dip-dode

Judy & The Affections – Dum, Dum, De Dip

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

5 thoughts on “Claps, Clicks & Whistles #8”

  1. Thanks for the recommendation – I did hunt down The Hunt For The Wilderpeople as well and watched it the other Sunday. Excellent stuff and so non-Hollywoody which was great. I like films from the Antipodes as so down-to-earth and non-formulaic. My favourite Australian film is Red Dog but if you are a pet lover it is hard going – I watched it at the cinema and had to leave with the mascara having not just run down my face but mixed with snot (lovely!). Great soundtrack as well.

Leave a Reply

