A Good Friday

So, it’s Easter weekend again, and time for us all to pretend we’re devout Christians honouring a long-standing tradition, when really all we care about is the fact that we all get to stuff our faces with chocolate and, in the UK at least, enjoy a super long, four day weekend:

4-Day Weekend Front

The Bluetones – 4-Day Weekend

Yes! A whole four days to think about doing that bit of DIY you’ve been putting off for months, and which you’ll continue to think about until Monday when, suddenly aware that you’ve totally wasted the whole weekend, you’ll skulk off to B&Q and spend the rest of the day trying to construct a flat-pack chest of drawers, armed only with a knife masquerading as the screwdriver which you can’t find, several screws less than your supposed to have, and an instruction manual written in every language except English accompanied by the most confusing diagrams known to mankind.

But we shouldn’t ignore the real reason we get this extended break. So, here’s a little something which references the events which didn’t actually take place at all, let alone on this day (controversial, I know):

CS1645777-02A-BIG

!!! – Even Judas Gave Jesus a Kiss

Regulars will know that, despite not having a single religious bone in my body, I do love to post festive songs at Christmas but, as I pointed out in previous years, there just aren’t that many which can be linked to Easter celebrations, unless you go down the egg route, which I’m not going to.

So, here’s my tradition: posting this every year in all it’s outrageous, glorious campness:

R-93627-1297079563_jpeg

Army of Lovers – Crucified

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

4 thoughts on “A Good Friday”

  1. Good selection, particularly The Bluetones. I did do a Top Ten Easter Songs at one point (it might have been on my old blog) but the only one I can remember off the top of my head was Roll Away The Stone by Mott The Hoople.

  2. I think we both posted that one last year (I know I did and I’m pretty sure I wasn’t alone in doing so…!).

    I wouldn’t rule out the possibility of it re-appearing over the weekend either, if I’m honest…

Leave a Reply

