Sunday Morning Coming Down

We’re travelling back to 1979 this morning, and to a song which was the only UK hit for a Country artist more renowned for penning songs made famous by others.

Mind you, Hoyt Axton came from prestigious song-writing stock: his mother, Mae Boren Axton co-wrote “Heartbreak Hotel” with Tommy Durden.

As for Hoyt, he wrote such songs as “Greenback Dollar” for The Kingston Trio, “The Pusher” for Steppenwolf, which featured on the soundtrack of “Easy Rider” and “Joy to the World”, a number one hit in the US for Three Dog Night.

But the most famous of his own recordings must be this one:

hoyt-axton-della-and-the-dealer-global

Hoyt Axton – Della and the Dealer

I’d love to say that the most famous thing about Axton was his music, but for many folks of a certain age there is something he is perhaps more well known for.

Some of you may be looking at that picture, scratching your head and trying to work out where you know him from.

I imagine, it’s from this:

I think we can safely say my next hour and a half is going to be spent watching “Gremlins”, yet again.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

5 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coming Down”

  1. He also wrote “Lightning Bar Blues”, the definitive version of which was recorded by the inestimable Commander Cody & His Lost Planet Airmen. (In Hoyt’s version, a bar fight breaks out in the background!)…

    I don’t need no diamond ring
    I don’t need no Cadillac car
    Just want to drink my Lone Star beer
    Down in the Lightnin’ Bar
    Down in the Lightnin’ Bar

    When I die don’t cry for me
    Don’t bury me at all
    Place my livin’, laughin’, lovin’ bones
    In a jar of alcohol
    Hundred proof alcohol

    Make sure you listen to the original on “Tales From The Ozone” – and, if you don’t have it already, go out and buy “Lost in the Ozone” – one of the greatest albums ever made.

  2. Well this song is certainly familiar to me as who could forget a line about a cat called Kalamazoo but wouldn’t have known it was by an artist called Hoyt Axton – Won’t forget that name now in a hurry!

Leave a Reply

