Late Night Stargazing

Returning from a six-year hiatus, it was announced recently that Fleet Foxes are to release their third album later this year.

They were a band that I was never particularly bothered by, with the exception of one song of theirs, from their second album, “Helplessness Blues“. This was the only album to feature drummer and backing vocalist Josh Tillman, who left the band in 2012 to pursue a solo career under the name Father John Misty, who I love.

This is the one song:

8471

Fleet Foxes – Lorelai

Not quite the sound that springs to mind when you think of Seattle bands recording on the Sub Pop label that, is it?

More soon.

Which Reminds Me…

In the last “This Is Pop” post that I could be bothered to write, I mentioned a remix by Soulwax of Sugababes’ “Round Round” that I love, and that reminded me of another remix they had done of an even more world famous pop kitten, which I thought I’d dig out for you today.

If you were to ask a former presenter of BBC TV’s “Top Gear” to describe this, he would undoubtedly punch you in the face and stomp off in search of some meat and an ethnic minority to abuse, pausing only to tell you that David Dewaele, Stephen Dewaele and Stefaan Van Leuven (the Belgian trio who make up Soulwax) had lifted up her bonnet and added some extra grunt:

Soulwax_Most_of_the_Remixes_cover

Kylie Minogue – Can’t Get You Out of My Head (Soulwax Kyluss remix)

More soon.

Funky Nassau

Here’s something a little different to the normal stuff I post, inspired by a pleasant, if unexpected, warm front.

Say what you like about Brexit, the weather’s been dead nice here since Article 50 was triggered on Wednesday.

One of the highlights of my weekend is listening to Huey Morgan’s show on 6Music of a Saturday morning. I’m not all that fond of his brash, super-cool New York persona, but he does play some fine tunes; doubtless he’s played this at some time or another, but if not, it’s the sort of thing which would fit in pretty well on his show.

I first heard this record about ten, maybe fifteen years ago. Concerned that my lack of knowledge of dance music would be exposed (again) when out clubbing, I went through a phase of buying CDs which had a mix provided by a famous DJ. One of them, if memory serves me right (I’ll have to try and dig it out) was a double CD, one featuring a mix by a chap called Tall Paul, the other by Fatboy Slim. This tune was a gloriously sunny highlight on the latter:

nassau

The Beginning of the End – Funky Nassau (Part One)

Speaking of Huey, here’s what I think is probably my favourite tune by him and his old band:

FUN_LOVIN_CRIMINALS_KOREAN+BODEGA-135141

Fun Lovin’ Criminals – Korean Bodega

If neither of those manage to get you moving this morning, or any morning, then nothing will.

More soon.

April 1st

Morning all.

Usual apologies that it’s been a bit quiet around here this week, I’ll explain why at some point over the weekend.

In the meantime, picking up where I left off last weekend by providing a public service and reminding people in the UK what the date is, today is April 1st, a day when the tradition is to play practical jokes. I did toy with the idea of doing something along those lines, but then it occurred to me that there was enough going on in the world at the moment which seems like a bad practical joke, it didn’t need me adding to it.

Instead, this, from a band from the mid-1990s who I really like but who seem, by and large, to have been forgotten:

d0ccd917ea605455550aff90a6a1284545f4d4ac

My Life Story – April 1st

More soon.