I Am The Mouth

All the links on yesterday’s long-overdue Chain to all things Blur made me realise they were yet to feature in this section.

Well, that makes today’s choice of record a no-brainer, since there is one early Blur single which is so overlooked that the band didn’t even bother to include it on their “Best of…” album.

Let me get something straight: “The Best of Blur” was not a “Best of..”, it was a Greatest Hits album, the title chosen because of it’s alliteration.

And how do I know it’s a Greatest Hits album? Because every track on it was a hit single, that’s how.

If it was a “Best of…” album then it would contain a smattering of album tracks. It would have “Tracy Jacks” on it for a start.

But no, today’s track was bumped in preference to the extremely shonky “Music is My Radar”, one of those “Exclusive New Tracks!” which have absolutely no right appearing on a “Best of…” compilation at all, especially not when it’s at the expense of one of the brighter highlights among many highlights of a band.

I’m thinking, of course, of their fourth single, the one that bridges the gap between debut album “Leisure” and follow-up “Modern Life is Rubbish” whilst appearing on neither; of a single which criminally only peaked at number 32 in the UK charts in 1992.

I’m thinking, of course, of “Popscene”:

39541

Blur – Popscene

I don’t need to say anymore, do I?

Thought not.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

6 thoughts on “I Am The Mouth”

  1. There’s a case to be made for this being both career-redefining and career-highpoint. Plus, it gave its name to countless indie club nights across the country, so…

    1. Point taken. But, apart from when I’ve played it out, I’ve never heard anyone else. I’m sure someone must have… I can’t be that much of a trailblazer (please sense the ironic, self-mocking tone)

  2. That’s weird, because I was sure I’d borrowed the other half’s copy of Best of Blur specifically to burn Popscene. If I didn’t get it from there… where did I get it from?

    1. It wasn’t on the standard release of The Best Of or, as far as I can tell, the limited 2CD version, but it was on their other compilation, Midlife.

Leave a Reply

