Mummy’s Brave Little Soldier

Hello. Been a bit quiet around here lately, hasn’t it?

Sorry about that, been a bit under the weather all week. I’ll not bore you with the details, but last weekend I got struck down by what some might call flu, others might rather disparagingly call Man Flu, but which I’m going to call a really heavy cold (mostly to neatly side-step any unkind messages advising me to man up).

I battled on with normal life, spending the last week alternating between sitting at my desk at work, coughing with a veracity and vibrato that knocks Storm Doris’ efforts into a cocked hat, and my bed, pausing only to quaff a Lemsip or a Hot Toddy or two along the way. Frankly, sitting down and writing stuff here fell off my list of priorities.

Anyway, although I’m still not feeling 100%, hopefully normal service – and yes, that includes The Chain – will now be resumed.

In the meantime, allow me to wheel out one of my catchphrases. These records seem appropriate:

mudhoney_touch_big

Mudhoney – Touch Me, I’m Sick

imagesvfugg4mg

The Smiths – Still Ill

(I’ve always loved the harmonica part on that version.)

fighting-fit-front

Gene – Fighting Fit

More soon. No, really.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

9 thoughts on “Mummy’s Brave Little Soldier”

  1. Sorry to hear that you’ve been laid low with the dreaded lurgy Jez. Lashings of Bourbon is my advice – it’s good for what ails you. Trust me, I’m a doctor. (N.B. Don’t trust me, I’m not a doctor).
    I’ll tell you what though – you’re back with three cracking tunes. I can’t imagine I’ll hear a better brace today.

    1. Wait – you’re NOT a doctor? So that’s why you didn’t warm your hands up first when you asked me to “drop ’em and cough”

  2. Happens to the best of us. Good to know your better, getting used to your regular posts, stay well. JCC – Health fanatic sounds like a good idea or maybe not.

  3. Did wonder about your lack of posts this week but sorry to hear the reason why – Just to warn you we all had it two weeks ago (wrote a post from my sick-bed) and still coughing now although not quite so bad.

    Love The Smiths track – but hopefully you won’t be “still ill” for much longer.

Leave a Reply

