Sunday Morning Coming Down

In 2015, Tom Jones, aged 75, released his 41st studio album “Long Lost Suitcase”.

In recent years, his role on The Voice UK aside, Jones has been striving to return to his musical roots, his credibility (rightly) dented by such hits as “Sex Bomb”.

Which reminds me: I found myself in Cardiff one night when he happened to be playing, at Cardiff Castle I think. I was heading towards The Hog’s Head, a bar (that used to be) alongside the Owain Glyndŵr, and found the square outside packed with women of a certain age, all drinking and getting their knickers ready to throw at him. I picked my way through the throng, but ultimately found my passage blocked by a very, very large lady with her sizeable back to me.

“Excuse me…” I said, tapping on her shoulder.

She turned to face me, and I saw that she had the word “Sex” written in lipstick on one cheek, and “Bomb” on the other.

“You’ve not heard of the Trades Description Act, I assume?” I said (under my breath, obviously), before ducking smartly into the bar.

Ever since he’s stopped dying his hair and proclaiming that he thought he was “gonna dance now”, Jones has started making bluesy, soul records again; now he lets his voice do the talking, if that isn’t a weird thing to say.

And here, he tackles one that’s a little bit Country:

jones

Tom Jones – Why Don’t You Love Me Like You Used to Do?

Short, but sweet.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

5 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coming Down”

  1. Jez, have you heard his collaboration with James Dean Bradford on his suspect Reload album? A song called ‘I’m left, you’re right, she’s gone’, originally by Elvis. It’s very, very good.

  2. “I picked my way through the throng, but ultimately found my passage blocked” – Was this deliberate? I read it first time round as thong so was very confused.

    Yes good to hear another side to Sir Tom – He is of course now dating the ex-Mrs Presley.

Leave a Reply

