Late Night Stargazing

I would imagine there’s quite a few of you out there who, like me, were quite excited to hear that Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds will be touring the UK in September. Even better, they’re playing their one London date on the weekend of my birthday.

As with many acts that I now love, I came to Cave fairly late; I wrote about it here when posting the gorgeous “Into My Arms” (mp3 link updated).

Tonight’s song comes from their most recent album, the beautifully gloomy “Skeleton Tree”. The gloominess is fully justified (as it is with any Bad Seeds record, but this time, more so) since in the middle of recording, Cave’s 15 year old son Arthur tragically died when he fell off a cliff.

Cave rewrote many of the lyrics in the wake of this; I have no idea whether tonight’s choice is one of them, but bloody hell it’s immense:

packshot1-768x768

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Girl in Amber

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Late Night Stargazing”

  1. ‘Skeleton Tree’ is a stunning piece of work. I hope you get your hands on Cave tickets. I missed out on Dylan tickets this time – absolutely gutted. The existence of secondary ticketing sites is a disgrace. All decent tickets for the shows disappeared the instant they went on sale, only to reappear immediately on a ‘legal’ secondary site at triple the price.

Leave a Reply

