How to Do a Cover Version

Many, many months ago, one of my longest serving readers and friends sent me a message about this thread that I used to occasionally do.

The message went something along the lines of: “Do you just do cover versions in English? If not, I have one for you….”

To my eternal shame, it was her birthday yesterday, and like the totally disorganised schmuck I am, I missed it.

So, in a pathetically shallow attempt to make up for it, Happy (belated) Birthday Cat, these three (count ’em!) are for you:

114850894

Gianni Morandi – Se Perdo Anche Te

And here’s a slightly more famous, much more stripped down version:

4994efb2b9f95025aa6da06338ade586

Johnny Cash – Solitary Man

And here’s the original, which sort of sits between the two:

just-for-you-bang

Neil Diamond – Solitary Man

Much as I love Cash and Diamond, I have to say the Morandi version is rather fine.

Raising a (okay, several) drinks to you tonight Cat.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

9 thoughts on “How to Do a Cover Version”

  1. One of my favourite Neil Diamond songs and I love the JC version, but the swinging, uptempo beat of Morandi is pretty damned groovy.

  2. Although it’s nice to hear the Neil Diamond and the Morandi version, they pale into insignificance when you hear that Johnny Cash vocal

Leave a Reply

