A History of Dubious Taste

As I mentioned a couple of posts ago, I pledged that I’d crack on with the autobiographical aspect of this place, irrespective of the fact that I don’t necessarily have any entertaining acid drops to relate to the records in question.

So, with nothing to say except that you should trust me here: suspend your pre-existing prejudices about this lot and give this a listen. This is just great. I love this record, especially the bit where Knopfler goes all Springsteen mid-way through it.

Here’s the just-shy of fifteen minutes epic that is:

mi0002788297

Dire Straits – Telegraph Road

See? Told you.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

5 thoughts on “A History of Dubious Taste”

  1. Dire Straits is a tricky one. I worked behind the counter of a record shop at the dawn of the CD age and spent many months of my life involuntarily hearing ‘Making Movies’, ‘Love Over Gold’ and ‘Brothers in Arms’ demonstrate the new format morning, noon and night (along with a few other titles I could mention). I’ve been scarred I’m afraid! That having been said, I seem to recall that the jaunty ‘Industrial Disease’ used to get my foot a-tapping once or twice, back, as they say, in the day.

    1. Industrial Disease is a belter, even has a couple of gags in it. But I know what you mean: don’t think I’ve ever truly liked something I’ve had forced upon me.

  2. I never understand the enmity devoted to Dire Straits. Muso snobbery, in the most part, I feel – although I can understand The Swede’s reasons. Although I liked the big hits back when I was a kid, it’s only in recent years that I’ve come to discover the albums and there’s some amazing stuff on them, Telegraph Road being an obvious belter.

Leave a Reply

