It’s The End of the Year As We Know It

And I feel…relieved.

But we’re going to go out on an up-note, and hopefully we can carry that through into 2017.

So, when I was younger, I used to love New Year’s Eve, even better if this song got played at round about midnight, preferably not as I’m sitting watching the Hootenanny weeping into a stale sock.

There are many different versions of this record, but this is by far and away my favourite:

thespecials_morespecials

The Specials – Enjoy Yourself

So to all of you, whoever and wherever you are in the world, whether you come here regularly or have just stumbled across me for the first time, especially if you’re one of The Chain Gang who help me with that particular thread, I hope you enjoy yourself tonight, and have a very happy 2017.

Oh, and there’s just one more thing before I go, something to reflect on.

Yes, 2016 has been a horrible, brutal year. But any year that gave us a new Teenage Fanclub album can’t be all bad.

This isn’t from that album, but it was the first song they played when I saw them in November, and it seems a pretty apt, upbeat way to sign off for 2016.

Teenage+Fanclub+Start+Again+286930

Teenage Fanclub – Start Again

More in 2017.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

10 thoughts on “It’s The End of the Year As We Know It”

      1. Oops yes sorry about that but a bit of drunken texting and commenting took place I’m afraid. That London obviously doesn’t know how to celebrate Hogmanay properly This year I led the neighbours in an homage to GM where we re-enacted the opening segment of Club Tropicana – From 17 – 70 they all took part. Time to move on now as a new year.

        Happy New Year! – I will try to curb my commenting impulses.

Leave a Reply

