Sunday Morning Coming Down

Continuing the vaguely Christmas-y theme for the rest of week now, here’s a song which, in all honesty, seems to have no other link to the time of the year than the word “snow”, but that’ll do for now:

anne_murray_snowbird

Anne Murray – Snowbird

And as a special Christmas treat, last week after I posted a track from a Christmas album I remember us having as a kid, Alyson commented that it had usually been Jim Reeves when she was a kid – and so did we, so here’s one from that too:

jim_reeves_-_twelve_songs_of_christmasJim Reeves – Jingle Bells

And if that doesn’t at least start getting you in the Christmas mood, you’re going to hate the next few days around here…

By which I mean, of course, more soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coming Down”

  1. I’m sorry but I missed this post yesterday – Just saw the Jim Reeves album cover now however and I am a mess. Back in the late ’70s my Dad bought us a fancy pants new Toshiba music centre and built a pretty big teak unit to put it on (with little sections for records underneath). I have never since had anything that plays music as well as it did and have such happy memories of playing my records on it and creating great mix tapes. That Christmas he and my mum bought a few festive records and this was one of them – I still remember well listening to The Merry Christmas Polka, Senor Santa Claus and Blue Christmas (as well as Jingle bells).

    This time last year I thought it would be a good idea to start a blog reminiscing about the past, linking a memory to a song. As you know I did exactly that, but you know what, when it comes to Christmas it is just really hard thinking of all those great songs, but realising hardly any of the people are still around. 14 years ago I had to rush down to spend Christmas day in hospital with my dad as he’d had a stroke, by the following year he was no longer with us. Still miss him every day. He was one of those quiet unassuming chaps who did great things for his local community without expecting any recognition or thanks – he just did it because it was the right thing to do.

    He was always really proud of me however and think he would have been secretly quite proud of what I’ve done with my blog this year. He did like his Jim Reeves so when I listen to this song I’ll think of him. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

