Sunday Morning Coming Down

Last week, I wrote about the occasion that I managed to see one of my great Country heroes, Kris Kristofferson.

This week, another of my Country heroes, who, sadly, I will never get to see perform.

In 2011, Glen Campbell was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease. I remember reading reports around the time of him forgetting the words to songs, stopping halfway through, leaving them unfinished, and thinking what a terribly, terribly sad end to a wonderful career, from session musician, to touring member of the Beach Boys, to solo stardom, this was.

I understand he currently resides in a memory care facility in Nashville,  unable to communicate with other people, no longer understanding what other people are saying to him,  in the “final stages” of his disease.

Whilst he was perhaps best known for recording the songs that Jimmy Webb wrote – “Galveston”, “Witchita Lineman”, “By The Time I Get to Phoenix” – there’s one song, written by Larry Weiss, with which Campbell’s name is synonymous:

glen_campbell-rhinestone_cowboy_s_1

Glen Campbell – Rhinestone Cowboy

I’ll try to pick something a bit more cheery next week.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

12 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coming Down”

  1. It’s been a harrowing year what will all the sad departures from the music world but almost as bad is finding out how things are for some of those still with us – A cruel illness. I found out last week that Linda Ronstadt now has Parkinson’s Disease and can no longer sing a note.

    Bit of blogging trivia – When I wrote about Glen and the 3 Jimmy Webb songs, I did a check on WordPress to see if anyone had written about them recently. I found your site because of the funny story about the Galveston/Gaviscon connection. And then of course I discovered The Chain, without which you guys may never have been treated to Russ Abbot or The Bay City Rollers – sorry!

    1. On a serious note, though: as I wrote today’s post, it occurred to me that it was like I was writing a tribute, an obituary even, for a man who is still alive. Which got me thinking: would I rather he passed away in 2016, just so we can blame the year, consign it to the bin of awful news and deaths, or do I want him to survive until 2017 (at least) and have that year blemished by the same run of loss? As you have said over at your place (and me here) some of the deaths of our heroes this year are inevitable, old age, illness, etc…at what point does it spill into wishing someone dies to end their own personal pain is ended..? Tune in next week for more philosophical questioning of life…..(no, please don’t, there won’t be any…)

      1. Yes a conundrum – What is happening nowadays however with t’internet etc is that we know so much more about the personal lives of our heroes. In my youth I had some serious movies star heroes (Cary Grant, Fred & Gene etc) but my memory of them is very much from their heyday and from that great body of work they left. To be honest I’m not sure when any of them passed away, and of what cause, because there was much less media attention/platforms available back then. Preserves the memory so to speak – Oh well, enough philosophising as you say but expect 2017 to be very much the same as would defy the law of averages for it to be otherwise. On that happy note – Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    1. Yes, and no. I had that version, knew Brian had written it, but didn’t know he wrote it for Glen. By the way, have added your site to my links, hope that’s okay

      1. The link is much appreciated, Jez. Thanks.

        I’ll keep my eyes (and ears) open for the “Pet Projects: Brian Wilson Productions” CD. Ta!

    2. If you don’t already have it (this feels like a grandmother, eggs sucking scenario), then I would heartily recommend this: Pet Projects: The Brian Wilson Productions.

  2. I was lucky enough to see Glen on his final tour a few years back. His memory was going and he missed a couple of notes and forgot a couple of lyrics, but he still had THAT voice and played the guitar like a man possessed. He’ll always be a hero to me, as will Jimmy Webb, who I was also fortunate enough to see live a few years earlier. Worth seeing, if you get the chance: he may not have Glen’s voice, but he’s an excellent storyteller.

Leave a Reply

