Sunday Morning Coming Down

This week’s tune is, in my befuddled brain, almost a companion piece to last week’s. But  where Bobbie Gentry was vowing she’d never fall in love again, today’s singer is simply saying she’s not that fussed on one chap in particular.

Written by Mike Nesmith of The Monkees – more of them next week – this is an absolute classic, with cover versions performed by artistes as diverse as The Lemonheads, Pete Burns (yes, that Pete Burns), The Pastels, Carrie Underwood, Skeeter Davis, P. P. Arnold and Paul Westerberg.

Probably one of my favourite records ever, I speak of course of “Different Drum” by Linda Ronstadt:

Different-Drum

Linda Ronstadt – Different Drum

I have a busy week ahead of me, so expect posts to be even less frequent, and responses to comments even slower than usual. I’m off to see Teenage Fanclub on Monday night, Graham Linehan’s adaptation of The Ladykillers on Wednesday (don’t fret, The Chain is practically ready and will still happen as usual), and – here’s the one that will invoke the most howls of disapproval and derision – Status Quo doing a one-off acoustic gig in Union Chapel in Islington (my favourite venue in London) on Friday. I’m dusting down my double denim as we speak.

Anyway, you know what I’m trying to say. (More soon)

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

8 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coming Down”

  1. That Pete Burns version is dreadful. As you’d expect, PP Arnold knocks off a great one. I hope Status Quo play Mystery Song.

  2. One of Ronstadt’s best – love these “oldies!” Have you heard the original version by the Greenbriar Boys (1966)? It doesn’t come close to the Stone Poneys, but interesting regardless.

    Would you consider adding me to your blogroll, Jez? If so, ta in advance.

    1. I’d be more than happy to, of course – although yours is by invite only (as I’ve just found out when I’ve gone to do just that). I’m pretty sure you’ve emailed me before to give your ok, but having just trawled through all my old emails I can’t find it. Care to resend?

  3. I first became aware of this song because of the Lemonheads version… sort of. When I bought that album, I bcame obsessed with the song because I KNEW I remembered it from my youth, but I had no idea whether I remembered the Mike Nesmith version (which I subsequently got hold of) or the Linda Ronstadt version or… well, probably not the Pete Burns version. I’ll probably never know. But it’s a song I love no matter (just about) who is singing it.

  4. My bargain CD copy of Different Drum arrived today courtesy of e-bay. Couldn’t get it out of my head since you posted this but could only buy the whole album on iTunes – Was too tight for that so went down the old-fashioned route – Alyson from the Alfie Blog. (Decided that if I’m allowed to be part of The Chain Gang, hope so as great fun, I should be a bit less anonymous!)

Leave a Reply

