Sunday Morning Coming Down

If you visit here regularly, it can’t have escaped your attention that one of my favourite bands is R.E.M.

Other than their signature jangly college rock sound, they would often drop an absolute pearler of an alt-country tune, and it’s to one of those that we’re heading this morning.

If I absolutely had to pick my favourite R.E.M. song, it’d probably be this one:

b0d5c3eb4bb7572106a767d1a41de1b7_500x489x1

R.E.M. – (Don’t Go Back To) Rockville

Years ago, when the band I was in at college met for rehearsals (and yes, anyone who was lucky enough to see us, unbelievable as it may seem, that was rehearsed) every so often we’d break for a few minutes, the rest of the band would sit and roll cigarettes and chat, and I would *ahem* “treat” them to a rendition of this. In the midst of writing this post, I have unleashed the old acoustic guitar and am pretty chuffed I still remember the chords to it.

With apologies to my neighbours for me singing it at 7:00 am, though. If it’s any consolation, I’d rather not have been awake at that time on a Sunday either.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coming Down”

  1. You’ve got me thinking now – what would be my favourite REM song? It’s a tough call. Right now it might be ‘Nightswimming’, particularly the performance by Mike and Michael on the BBC’s ‘Later with Jools Holland’. ‘Rockville’ will always be in the top ten though.

Leave a Reply

