The Premier’s In

Meanwhile, in that there football world, it’s the opening day of the Premiership today. And as if by magic, as I queued up to buy my lunch yesterday, my iPod gave me this to listen to, a song which to these ears is synonymous with football highlights (that, and a truly awful performance at Glastonbury 2010, when Ian Broudie seemed determined to prove every song he had ever written he had done so in the wrong key for his singing voice):

the-lightning-seeds-the-life-of-riley-virgin

The Lightning Seeds – The Life of Riley

Since I have a “never knowingly give any money to Murdoch” philosophy, I have no idea what tune Sky have chosen to accompany their Football coverage this year. I imagine it’s something by Kasabian. Which is another reason not to watch Sky, of course.

But I was mightily heartened today to note that BBC’s Saturday lunchtime football show, “Football Focus” was continuing to use this masterpiece as the theme tune:

1eb7479d

Ride – OX4

No matter how many times I post that, it gets no less majestic.

There you go: that’s your ball entertainment covered, which is about as much as can be said for Gary Lineker when he hosts tonight’s Match of the Day, it seems.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

2 thoughts on “The Premier’s In”

  1. ““never knowingly give any money to Murdoch”” an admirable policy, one which I suspect many of us adhere to. Having said that, we watch several FOX channels (Fox Movies, FoxLife, Fox, Fox crime), they are part of our tv package. So it looks I contribute to The Evil Empire.

    1. Nope, don’t have any of those: I did, until Murdoch pulled the plug on my provider airing them after they outbid him for the rights to show the football. What a guy.

Leave a Reply

