Sunday Morning Coming Down

This morning, a Country staple, although actually a folk song (the line between Country and Traditional American Folk is often quite blurred), performed by one of the great Country family bands:

carter-family-wildwood-flower-victor-78

The Carter Family – Wildwood Flower

It’s a song I’ve known since I was a kid, since it appears on a triple album my Dad owns. Credited to The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, a cursory look at the album sleeve tells you it’s an album which features collaborations with a whole host of country, bluegrass and folk folks:

81Bcq4+Ri-L__SL1500_The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band – Wildwood Flower

And that was the unmistakable (I hope, or I’m going to look pretty stoopid) sound of Mother Maybelle Carter singing the lead vocal.

As you can imagine with a triple album, there’s plenty more quality songs to choose from, so expect this to feature again, quite a bit, on this thread.

Or, to put it another way: More Soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

9 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coming Down”

  1. The 2nd version is superb. At times, the Carter Family “original” is one o fthe 5 best songs ever recorded. Toptastic tunes for sunday morning. By the way, the CutPi player doesn’t work. But I was overjoyed to have the ad for The League Of (suspiciously well-bosomed) Angels to accompany the zippy file.

      1. Seems to work fine for me…anyone else have issues? Happy to post an alternative link if you like George (although I suspect you’ll own that version anyway…)

  2. I used to own the Nitty Gritty LP in another lifetime, sold, no doubt, in a moment of financial crisis. I look forward to reacquainting myself with a few tunes from it as and when you post them.

Leave a Reply

