That Summer Feeling #2

I have a playlist on my iPod of summer records. Every time I wake up, open my curtains and see the sunshine, the playlist gets popped on as I head to work.

Inevitably, by the end of the day the storm clouds have gathered, and I’ve got drenched when I popped out to Boots at lunchtime to pick up my meal deal and flirt with the lovely wobbly randy old ladies on the till.

Equally inevitably, this will be the first song I play on such days, a perfect way to start a sunny one, without being as try-hard inspirational as that bloody song by Elbow about throwing open your curtains and having a wonderful day.

8ae0f6492e1d81a4946d8449faa23401

Super Furry Animals – Hello Sunshine

Any song which contains the lines:

“I’m a minger, you’re a minger too

So come on minger, I want to ming with you”

is a) wonderful, and b) probably written but someone sitting in my sweaty vicinity at work in the last couple of days.

And I’m not trying to jinx the weather. Honest.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

One thought on “That Summer Feeling #2”

  1. Reggae is my general default when the weather’s like this, my tastes becoming progressively dubbier as each day wears on and the heat becomes evermore unbearably intense. The temperature returns to normal tomorrow, by all accounts, in which case I might actually get something done for the first time in days.
    Top tune by the way.

Leave a Reply

