Name That Tune

Mention of the legendary Half Man Half Biscuit in my Sunday Morning post reminded me that I’ve not done one of these for a couple of weeks. Too busy ranting.

And I thought I’d better get this posted before the Wales v Portugal match, during which I’ll be too nervous to take my eyes off the screen, and after which I’ll either be too depressed or too deliriously happy to write anything.

So, here’s the song that was on the compilation CD I mentioned, on Sunday, possibly my favourite ever Half Man Half Biscuit song (it changes about as often as which is my favourite song by The Smiths or The Wedding Present, i.e. pretty much every day. The general rule of thumb for each is: whatever I’ve just heard), and believe me, it’s up against some pretty stiff competition.

R-543052-1445264039-3420_jpeg

Half Man Half Biscuit – Dickie Davies Eyes

The title is, of course, a reference to/piss take of Kim Carnes’ “Bette Davies’ Eyes”, or possibly even The Adverts’ “Gary Gilmore’s Eyes”, both of which I’ll save for future posts.

And in case you’re unclear as to who Dickie Davies was, he was the anchorman on ITV’s World of Sport, their alternative to the BBC’s Grandstand, linking together highlights of sports of a Saturday afternoon. And he looked like this:

bfi-00n-gzh

As the Wales game is on ITV here in the UK this evening, it seems apt to mention him now.

When he retired, because of that trade-mark white line in his hair, there was a rather fine joke that went round: “Dickie Davies never did finish painting his ceiling, did he?”

It’s the way I tell ’em.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

8 thoughts on “Name That Tune”

  1. Saw HMHB live twice and managed to shake hands with Nigel once. Great gigs from a great band and “Dickie Davis Eyes” is a classic. “So I’ll wipe my snot on the arm of your chair
    As you put another Roger Dean poster on the wall.” Songwriting genius.

  2. I was reading somewhere of some cyclists who are attempting to visit every British place mentioned in a HMHB song. One of which is of course included in the title of the flip side of this – Papworth General.

Leave a Reply

