Name That Tune

Hello! Fancy seeing you here!

Apologies that it’s been a bit quiet around here for the past week; yet again my laptop decided it didn’t want to play anymore at the weekend. Several System Restores  and a lot of swearing later, we’re up and running again, but this is the first chance I’ve had to post anything new since the stuff I wrote last Saturday.

So, everything that I intended to post last weekend, but didn’t, will feature this coming weekend, particularly the next in The Chain thread (and my, have I got some beauties for you in that post). Oh, and I’ll get round to replying to all of your very kind comments as soon as I’ve posted this.

Anyway, enough of my tales of woe. Time for some famous person’s name related fun.

On Sunday this weekend, I’m off to Day 2 of Field Day here in London, and since I didn’t get a ticket for the real thing, this is my mini-Glastonbury for the year. Of course, rain is forecast, just so I can convince myself I’m in a field in Somerset rather than a park in East London.

Here’s some of the acts that are playing on the day I’ll be there: Cass McComb, Adam Green, Brian Jonestown Massacre, The Thurston Moore Group, The Temper Trap, Parquet Courts, Shearwater, Steve Mason, The Ben Watt Band (featuring Bernard Butler), Beach House, Mystery Jets, The Duke Spirit and, as they used to say in Greatest Hits adverts, many many more. It’s an impressive line-up and no mistake. If any of you have any recommendations out of that lot (or more pertinently, out of any that I’ve not listed), then feel free to let me know via the Comments.

Spread over eight stages, inevitably there are clashes of acts I want to see, none more so when it comes to the headliners.

On one stage, there are The Avalanches, performing in support of their first new material in what feels like a lifetime, with French electro-noodlers Air topping the bill. I’ve never seen Air live, and suspect that an after-dark performance by them will be quite something. Similarly, I’ve seen (as I think I’ve mentioned before) I’ve seen various members of The Avalanches DJ before, but this is the actual band playing an actual set (I think).

Competing with them on the main stage (or the Eat Your Own Ears stage, as they seem to want to call it, which sounds like a terrible idea at a music concert, unless, say, you were at that Brexit concert that the world and his wife seemed keen to avoid being added to the bill of) where the headliner is P J Harvey, and on before her is John Grant. I’ve seen PJ before and she’s always, as you’d expect, mesmerising; and John Grant is right up there on my “People I want to see” list.

Quite the quandary, no? Luckily, there’s only me and two mates going; we’ve all known each other for such a long time that I suspect we’ll all agree where to be and who to see. If there is any dissent in the ranks, then democracy will win out. If its a 2:1 scenario, I don’t think the :1 will be too upset at losing.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the work of Grant (I’m going to assume you have heard of P J, Air, and The Avalanches), you’re luck’s in, for he provides today’s tuneage:

110_JohnGrant_QueenOfDenmark

John Grant – Sigourney Weaver

As the more astute of you will have spotted, that’s taken from his debut album – or rather, his first solo album after his previous band The Czars split up – “Queen of Denmark”, which he recorded in collaboration with Midlake, who are one of those bands who I know of, but own absolutely nothing by. Your recommendations of where I should start with them would be gratefully appreciated.

Anyway, one of the things I love about John Grant is his unique lyrical style. He seems to make some of the most bizarre similes I’ve ever heard, like this, from the above-posted “Sigourney Weaver”:

“And I feel just like Sigourney Weaver
When she had to kill those aliens.
And one guy tried to get them back to the Earth.
And she couldn’t believe her ears.”

Erm, okay John, If you say so.

Or, later in the same song:

“I feel just like Winona Ryder
In that movie about vampires.
And she couldn’t get that accent right;
Neither could that other guy.”

Not great with the names of male actors, is he?

(He’s talking about Paul Reiser in “Aliens” and Keanu Reeves in “Bram Stoker’s Dracula” respectively, by the way).

And here’s a semi-interesting Sigourney fact: her real name’s Susan, but she changed it to Sigourney after finding inspiration from a character in The Great Gatsby.

Which is lucky, because “And I feel like Susan Weaver…” doesn’t really scan all that well.

Slightly more impressive is this: there’s a scene in Alien Resurrection where Weaver’s character, Ripley, has to make a basketball shot from behind her back, some 6 feet past the 3-point line (wherever that is). Director Jean-Pierre Jeunet wanted to drop the ball into the hoop from the top of the screen, to give the impression Weaver had done it. Weaver, however, had other ideas:

More soon.

very kind

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

2 thoughts on “Name That Tune”

  1. Queen of Denmark is a fantastic album – it would be interesting to hear those songs without Midlake’s backing. As for Midlake themselves, I first encountered them when I walked into my local record shop (remember them?) and their music was being played. Dave the shop owner grinned and said that he’d hoped I was coming in, as he thought I’d like it. The album? 2006’s The Trials Of Van Occupanther. If you like QoD, I’d start there.

Leave a Reply

