Sunday Morning Coming Down

Yes, I have changed the name. And yes, I have gone back through all of the old posts and changed their names too. The hours with Eurovision on in the background were well spent.

So, to a song I’ve posted before, a long time ago, but not in this thread and, since this little corner of Sunday morning seems to be leaning towards great Country records, it seems only right that I rename the thread and post this:

 kris-kristofferson-sunday-morning-coming-down-monument

Kris Kristofferson – Sunday Mornin’ Comin’ Down

When I last posted this, I wrote the following words: “…when I found out he knew [this song] and loved it, [it] made me love one of my friends even more than I already did. You know who you are…” That still stands. Must hook up soon, not seen you in ages.

Anyway, if you need convincing of how majestic this record is, check out that sleeve. “Me And Bobby McGee”, one of the greatest records ever (not even up for debate that, it just is), doesn’t even get top billing.

And if you need more convincing, here’s Johnny Cash covering it:

imagesIRZNG2BN

Johnny Cash – Sunday Morning Coming Down

Now as you all know, I love a bit of Cash, and generally will happily agree that a Cash cover version is the best version. See: “The Mercy Seat”. See: “Hurt”. But not here.

Maybe it’s the slightly schmaltzy 70s string arrangement which tries to upbeat Cash’s version, I dunno, but for my money he doesn’t sound quite…I wish there was a better way to put this…as fucked as Kristofferson sounds on his version.

With Kristofferson’s version, you totally get that this is a man wasted, world-weary, staggering round the neighbourhood, the guy we’d all cross the road to avoid, searching for something but not quite sure what.

We’ve all had Sunday Mornings like that, right? Right??

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coming Down”

  1. Johnny Cash’s version is simply magnificent. By the way, Sunday Country is a splendid idea for a series. I seem to recall an old blog doing a Country Monday series……………

    1. Oh don’t get me wrong, I love Cash’s version, just think KK nails it. And I recall that old blog too, I trust my Sunday country acts as an appropriate homage

  2. Happy to take the credit for introducing you to ‘Sunday morning Coming Down’. Guess it makes up for ‘Seven Golden Daffodils@ and @Shut uppa ya Face’!
    Jezdad

Leave a Reply

