Same Title, Different Song

I’m not sure the shower has quite done the trick. I think I need to hear some unquestionably wonderful records to cleanse my soul of that last post.

Luckily, I have just the thing, one of the greatest, if not the greatest, 02:40 ever committed to vinyl:

CS478753-01A-BIG

The Ronettes – Be My Baby

Not a song title to be messed with, you’d think. And you’d be right.

Unless you happened to be banging Lenny Kravitz and getting him to write songs for you at the same time. Well, maybe not at exactly the same time, that’d just be impractical. And messy. Probably end up with a lot more “oohs” and “aahs” in the lyrics too.

And even then, frankly you’d be taking a bit of a punt.

Now, I don’t have much time for Mr Kravitz. He’s made a couple of decent tunes, sure, but not quite enough to deserve the cool cat tag he seems to have.

But this is without doubt the best thing he ever had a hand in (the record, not the soon-to-be-Mrs Johnny Depp, you foul minded folk):

V00002095

Vanessa Paradis – Be My Baby

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

2 thoughts on “Same Title, Different Song”

  1. I’ve never heard that Vanessa Paradis song before. Not that I can ever recall anyway. Inspiration for many a Belle & Sebastian song methinks.

Leave a Reply

