Same Title, Different Song

A couple of tracks from acts that I love this morning.

First, from their third – and my favourite – album, “Surrender”:

the_chemical_brothers_-_out_of_control_-_front

The Chemical Brothers – Out of Control

The Chemical Brothers, of course, often employ guest vocalists (they’ve worked with Noel Gallagher, Tim Burgess, Hope Sandoval, Beck, Wayne Coyne, Beth Orton, Richard Ashcroft, Q-Tip, Kele Okereke, Will Mason, Fatlip, Klaxons, Lightspeed Champion…the list goes on) and, of course, on “Out of Control” it’s the turn of Bernard Sumner and Bobby Gillespie to make appearances; the above is the extended album version.

Similarly ground-breaking and influential are Super Furry Animals, who apparently I mention too often round these parts. If I do, so be it: it’s because they’re effing amazing.

From their sixth album, “Phantom Power”:

1347547054_1331974641_super-furry-animals-phantom-power

Super Furry Animals – Out Of Control

The reason this song title has sprung to mind today is because this week Lush announced the imminent release of their first new material in twenty years, a four-track EP (yes, just like they used to in the good old days) entitled “Blind Spot EP”.

In the press release, Miki Berenyi said: “It certainly took some time to set up, but once we were in the studio, everything came together incredibly quickly. It was great fun! It’s been a long time since I’ve written Lush lyrics, and I realised early on with this EP that what I wrote about then is not what I feel comfortable writing about now. My perspective, and what is close to my heart, has changed, and I think that’s conveyed in the songs.”

Bass player Phil King adds: “I know I’m biased, but I work for a music magazine and so much of the music I hear played in the office sounds non-descript or derivative. Emma has this way of writing unusual chord changes and manages to weave lovely melodies over the top, and it immediately sounds distinctive, like Lush.”

I have a policy of not posting mp3s here that either haven’t yet been, or have only just been released, so you won’t be getting anything from me here – but you can have a gander at the video for the lead track from the new EP, called, you guessed it, “Out of Control”:

I think it’s fair to say that’s a real return to their earlier, ethereal, oh-go-on-then-if-I-absolutely-have-to-say-it-“Shoegazey” sound rather than their later Brit-poppy days, and that’s no bad thing. (I say that as if I don’t like their Brit-pop phase, but I think we’ve established in previous posts that’s not the case)

It’s scheduled for release on April 15th, but you can pre-order it here.

Enjoy.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

One thought on “Same Title, Different Song”

Leave a Reply

