Apropos of Nothing

When I was DJ’ing at the end of the 80s/start of the 90s, I bought this on 7″ single, only to find that I had inadvertently picked up the “Radio Edit”, which substitutes the phrase “Big Mac” for the phrase “Milk Shake” (it may actually be Big Shake, I’m not sure).

The reason for this alteration was that the Poppies (for it is they) doubtless wanted their record to be played on the BBC (particularly Radio 1 although I doubt they would have sniffed at it being played on Radio 2, 3 or 4 or…that’s the lot. Pre-digital days, see) and the BBC – to it’s eternal credit and possibly detriment – doesn’t do advertisements.

See, the publicly funded BBC is supposed to be impartial, to not show bias or preference to any person, party, corporation or company.

I say supposed there like I think they don’t manage it. Let me clarify:  The BBC may have many faults (failing to commission a third series of Sharon Horgan’s “Pulling” for example), but lack of  impartiality isn’t one of them.

The BBC, as ever, is under attack from the UK Government. This seems to be an ongoing situation, and sadly isn’t restricted to the current regime. The Conservatives are constantly baying for it to be either closed down or privatised (their “answer” to everything, it seems), and Labour were no better when they were in. Generally, the given reason for this is that it is biased one way or the other.

Is it fuck.

As Simon Blackwell, writer/producer with a fine pedigree (Veep, The Thick Of It, In The Loop, Peep Show, Four Lions, Have I Got News For You) recently tweeted:

Like the NHS, the BBC is an institution us Brits should be proud of. We’ll miss them both when they’re gone/sold off.

Anyway, I seem to have gone on a bit of a rant rather than just posting the record, so I’ll shut up and do just that:

Pop+Will+Eat+Itself+Def+Con+One+85819

Pop Will Eat Itself – Def Con One

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

