Sunday Morning Coming Down

I very much doubt that it has escaped your attention, but today is Valentine’s Day.

Saint Valentine (or Saint Valentine of Moonpig.com, to give him his full title) is of course the patron saint of both chocolatiers and gullible people.

Anyway, I thought I should post something suitable for the occasion.

I’ve given The Beautiful South a bit of stick for their choice, and delivery, of cover versions on here recently, so I thought I’d try to rectify this today. You know, provide a bit of balance.

As I’ve said before, I loved The Housemartins, and much of The Beuatiful South’s early output, and I think Paul Heaton’s lyrics are genuinely witty, sharp, incisive, often political, all qualities I look for in a lyricist.

Truth be told, I don’t think this morning’s choice is necessarily one of his better songs; but released as an extra track on their “The River/Just Checkin'” CD single, what it does have, however, is one of the greatest song titles ever:

The+Beautiful+South+The+River++Just+Checkin+366080

The Beautiful South – Valentine’s Day Wank

More soon.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

One thought on “Sunday Morning Coming Down”

  1. thank god I didn’t have a mouth full of tea when I scrolled down and read that. I’d have ruined the new laptop…..

    Better title than tune. But then again, a few bands have made careers out of that…

Leave a Reply

