It’s Chriiiistmas!!!

Welcome back to Christmas corner.

Another couple of absolute belters for you this morning.

First up, from the cannot-put-a-foot-wrong-in-my-eyes canon of work that is Eels. Or eels if you prefer. Either way, it’s the work of Mark Oliver Elliott, or “E” as he is more widely known. E is the son of Hugh Everett III, who came up with the concept of quantum theory (which, try as I might, I just simply do not understand. I know from Wikipedia that it’s “the body of scientific principles that explains the behaviour of matter and its interactions with energy on the scale of atoms and subatomic particles”, but I feel less intelligent, not more, than I did when I started typing that out.)

Anyway, quantum physics isn’t very Christmassy (or is it? It might be. See, no idea) so here’s something that definitely is (or finitely, if I want to try and be clever and do a physics gag):

51HLAWQVFtL__SL500_AA280_

Eels – Everything’s Gonna Be Cool This Christmas

That’s bloody great, isn’t it?

Next a band whose eponymous debut album I love and will feature on these pages again at some point, but who blotted their proverbial copybook when they released “Stacey’s Mom”, which I appreciate makes me sound like one of those idiots who begrudge their favourite band any kind of commercial success.

maxresdefault

Fountains of Wayne – I Want an Alien for Christmas

I would like to take this opportunity to remind you that an alien is for life and not just for Christmas. And anyway, how would you wrap the boggle-eyed, bottom probing, little bugger?

More soon.

 

 

 

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

