How to Do a Cover Version

And whilst we’re at resurrecting threads I previously dropped, how about this one?

Anyone who has caught Hot Chip live in the last couple of years (an elite group amongst which I am unable to count myself, but I saw the Glastonbury footage when I got home…from Glastonbury. There was a clash, ok?? Super Furries or Hot Chip – you know which way I’m gonna swing) will have borne witness to the genius that is their version of Broooce’s “Dancing in the Dark”. And now, here it is:

hzAhCn Hot Chip – Dancing in the Dark

and here’s the original:

A_-Front Bruce Springsteen – Dancing in the Dark

I believe it is obligatory in blogland, having mentioned “Dancing in the Dark” to post the video, which features a pre-Friends Courtney Cox being dragged on stage to dance (badly) with Broooce (also dancing badly). What are the odds of that happening, huh? Here it is: obligation filled.

But wait! What’s that at the end of the Hot Chip version? Isn’t that the sound of one James Murphy and his LCD Soundsystem collective’s finest moments? Why yes, it is, and here’s all 7:37 of the glorious original:

LCD_Soundsystem_-_All_My_Friends_cover_art LCD Soundsystem – All My Friends

And while we’re at it, here’s Franz Ferdinand’s version of the same glorious song:

LCD_Soundsystem_-_All_My_Friends Franz Ferdinand – All My Friends

More soon. Possibly.

Published by

Jez

Contact me by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com Follow me on Twitter: @atastehistory Or do both. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

