From Leeds With Love

Blimey, it’s been a while since I did one of these, hasn’t it, dear reader?

Well, I have to admit that this thread was woken from it’s slumber by Gedge and co doing a session for 6Music’s Marc Riley show the other night. In case you didn’t catch it, it’s here (obviously, that’s for a limited time only).

Anyway, as I think I may have mentioned on one of these here posts before, one of the things I love about The Wedding Present’s cover versions is that they often introduced me to a band I’d never heard of, or knew little about, and such is the case with today’s post.

MI0001680527 The Wedding Present – I Found That Essence Rare

Compare it to the original, and you can see how The Wedding Present’s version is louder and faster. They Weddoed it up, in other words.

Ah yes, the original, as performed by angular spiky-guitared, also-from-Leeds, Gang of Four, and taken from their seminal (I’ve always had a problem with that word. I use here it in the “highly original and influencing the development of future events” meaning, although it’s certainly spunky too) album “Entertainment!”

Entertainment! Gang of Four – I Found That Essence Rare

That line “See the girl on the TV dressed in a bikini,  She doesn’t think so but she’s dressed for the H-bomb” is one of my favourite lines ever.

More soon.

Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

