Friday Night Music Club (Volume 1)

tumblr_inline_n2sauuxYa91qfyef6tumblr_inline_n2sauuxYa91qfyef6tumblr_inline_n2sauuxYa91qfyef6tumblr_inline_n2sauuxYa91qfyef6

Well, I did warn you not to anticipate more regular posts, didn’t I? Good. I hate to disappoint.

Anyway, with just under a week to go until we all trudge off to the polling booths to collectively fail to make a decision, there will be some more in my series of political records before the big day. Not quite one a day, but, y’know…some. More than one, anyway. Definitely plural.

In the meantime, I need cheering up a little. In the past week I suffered a terrible loss. I’m not going to go on about it here just yet (as anyone who sits near me at work will attest, I’ve moaned about it quite enough this week, thank you very much); the pain is too raw, too fresh, and I can’t face writing about it, for once I write about it, I’m admitting it has happened. It becomes an irrefutable fact and I can no longer deny it’s existence.

So I decided to do something upbeat. You may remember a couple of posts ago I made passing reference to what I christened “Friday Night Music Club”. Allow me to expand on that. In leaner times, my flatmate and I would stay in on Friday night with a couple of bottles of red wine, maybe a bottle of vodka, often some Kahlua too so I could make my legendary Pints of White Russian (drinking White Russians in pints may sound a little extreme, but trust me, it cuts down on the number of visits to the kitchen, if not the bathroom) and we would proceed to get right royally rat-arsed.

Such shenanigans required some musical accompaniment, and this was where the Friday Night Music Club was born. Initially I would do a playlist, burn it onto a CD and we would listen to this whilst imbibing. As technology progressed, this became a playlist on an ipod (other mp3 players are available) which had the added benefit of course of not restricting me to the length of just one CD.

I’d listen to my ipod every day on the commute to work and the journey back home again, keeping it on shuffle and making a note of any songs which popped up. I’d then add them to a new playlist, and then spend the first couple of hours after I got home on Friday night tinkering with it, placing each track in a place where it seemed to fit with those either side of it.

I live on my own now (this will doubtless come as no surprise to anyone reading this who doesn’t actually know me) and I still find myself preparing a new playlist pretty much every week, sad loser that I am. It probably won’t have escaped your attention that most of my posts here have come on a Friday night, so you can probably deduce that, yes, I have usually had a few drinks, and then, whilst listening back to it, I’ve gotten the urge to write something for all you good, good people.

So, this week, I thought I’d share one with you.

You’ll probably notice that every now and then a theme emerges; sometimes I’ll run with it, sometimes I’ll run with it a bit too far, like a musical Stewart Lee. There aren’t any particular examples of this on this mix (that’s a lie, there is), but bear with me: there may be more on future Fridays. Frankly it depends on how much of a pain in the arse it is uploading this many songs individually.

You’ll also note that all pretensions of being cool go out of the window on a Friday Night.

So, here goes. To help your Bank Holiday Weekend get off with a bang, I give you Friday Night Music Club Volume 1.

(PS – as a special treat, there are at least two songs here which, as far as I know, have never been made commercially available, you lucky people. No need to thank me)

Enjoy!

  1. Patience And Prudence – Tonight You Belong To Me
  2. Faithless – Insomnia
  3. Happy Mondays- 24 Hour Party People
  4. Grace Jones – Pull Up To The Bumper
  5. Richie Havens – Going Back To My Roots
  6. Inner City – Good Life
  7. Jackson Sisters – Miracles
  8. Heatwave – Boogie Nights
  9. Fantastic Plastic Machine – Take Me To The Disco (Malibu Mix)
  10. Mason vs. Princess Superstar – Perfect (Exceeder)
  11. Spektrum – Kinda New (We All Live & Die) (Tiefschwarz Vocal Mix)
  12. Pure Orange feat. Shane Nolan – Feel Alive
  13. Armand Van Helden – Koochy
  14. Fischerspooner – Emerge
  15. Green Velvet – La La Land
  16. Golden Boy feat. Miss Kitten – Rippin Kittin
  17. Donna Allen – Serious
  18. Oui 3 – Break From The Old Routine
  19. Credit To The Nation – Teenage Sensation
  20. George Michael – Outside
  21. Barry Adamson – Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Pelvis
  22. Fun Lovin’ Criminals – Korean Bodega
  23. Garbage – Stupid Girl
  24. Curve – Pink Girl With The Blues
  25. Good Charlotte – Girls & Boys
  26. Dave Edmunds – Girls Talk
  27. Gay Dad – To Earth With Love
  28. Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass – Spanish Flea
  29. Ben Folds- Get Your Hands Off My Woman
  30. Gruff Rhys – Sensations In The Dark
  31. Inspiral Carpets – Caravan
  32. Huey Lewis and The News – Hip To Be Square
  33. Hall and Oates – Maneater
  34. Nelly Furtado – Maneater
  35. Goldie Lookin’ Chain – Nan Rita
  36. Danielle Dax – Cat-House
  37. Editors – Blood
  38. I Was A King – Norman Bleik
  39. Teenage Fanclub – Star Sign
  40. Reverend and The Makers – Heavyweight Champion of The World
  41. Ian Dury and The Blockheads – Reasons To Be Cheerful (Part 3)
  42. Charlie Brooker and The Blockheads – Reasons To Be Fearful ’14
  43. Red Hot Chilli Peppers – Love Rollercoaster
  44. Dead Kennedys – Too Drunk To Fuck
  45. Motorhead & Girlschool – Please Don’t Touch
  46. Queens of The Stone Age – Go With The Flow (Radio Edit)
  47. Electric Six – Gay Bar
  48. Elbow – Grounds For Divorce
  49. Bruce Springsteen – Born To Run
  50. Green Day – Wake Me Up When September Ends
  51. Gordon Lightfoot – Daylight Katy
  52. Elton John – Tiny Dancer
  53. HAIM – Falling (Duke Dumont Remix)
  54. Fat Larry’s Band – Zoom
  55. Embrace – The Good Will Out
Published by

Jez

On Twitter: @atastehistory or me (where you're more likely to get a reply and a follow back): @jezbionic or by email at: dubioustaste26@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

